Elected Officials

The City of Bluffdale is a city of the 4th class as defined by the Utah Code. There are 6 elected officials that make up the governing body: a Mayor and 5 Council Members.
Council Members are elected for terms of 4-years and terms are staggered so that only 3 elected officials’ terms expire at the same time. Municipal Elections occur in odd years (2017, 2019, 2021, etc.) and are held during General Elections on the second Tuesday in November.
The Mayor and 5 Council Members are elected at-large.

Click here for more information on Bluffdale City's Form of Government.



NOVEMBER 2, 2021


The 2021 City of Bluffdale Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 2, 2021, to elect a Mayor and two Council Members.   Each Council seat is At-large for a four-year term.  


On April 14, 2021, the Bluffdale City Council voted to participate in the Municipal Alternate Voting Methods pilot project for the 2021 Municipal Elections.  This voting method is better known as ranked choice voting.  Because of this decision, the declaration of candidacy period changes to August.  Citizens seeking to become a candidate must file a Declaration of Candidacy in person with the City Recorder, 2222 West 14400 South, Bluffdale, Utah, during office hours (8:30 a.m. to 5;00 p.m., Monday-Friday) between August 10 and August 17, 2021. 


To qualify as a candidate for a municipal office, you must be a registered voter and be a resident of Bluffdale for 12 consecutive months prior to the election.  


For additional information, you may contact the Recorder’s Office by calling 801-849-9407, or by emailing recorder@bluffdale.com

Name Expiration of Term
Mayor Derk Timothy 01/01/2022
Wendy Aston 01/01/2022
Traci Crockett 01/01/2022
Dave Kallas 01/01/2024
Jeff Gaston 01/01/2024
Mark Hales 01/01/2024