Planning Commission

The Bluffdale City Planning Commission is comprised of five members plus one alternate member. The Planning Commission must operate within the constraints of state law. Generally the Commission makes recommendations to the City Council on matters that pertain to the planning and zoning of the City. The responsibilities of the Commissioners are of great value to our City. The Commissioners ensure the things that come before the City Council are vetted through their knowledge of the laws and ordinances of the City.
The Planning and Zoning Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council.

In the past, residents haven’t shown much interest in being a member of the Commission. Because of this, it was natural for me to automatically reappoint members of the commission once their four year term expired. However, since there has been renewed interest by residents in wanting to be involved in our City I have decided to discontinue automatically reappointing commissioners to give more opportunity for others to serve in our City.

The new process by which I will appoint members to the Planning and Zoning Commission (and the Board of Adjustments) will be to advertise the opportunity to apply. The City Council and I will interview the selected candidate(s) in an open and public meeting. I will select the person(s) to be appointed with advice from the City Council. The person(s) to be presented to the City Council for possible appointment will be informed of the opportunity and then will be required to attend a training class on their responsibilities prior to the date the City Council will be asked to confirm my appointment.

The purpose of the training is twofold. One, it will be to help the candidate understand the laws pertaining to the responsibility and two, it will give the City Council Members confidence that the candidate understands and will follow the law if they are appointed. I feel this will be the best process for allowing all to have an opportunity to serve and the ability to be trained properly which will give our City the best opportunity to go forward in the right direction.

If you have any interest in serving on the Planning and Zoning Commission please fill out the Volunteer Application (below) and return your application in person or email Terri Bawden ( 

Mayor Timothy

The Planning Commission typically meets twice per month on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays, at 6:30 p.m., pursuant to the City’s adopted annual meeting schedule and workload.

Volunteer Application

Volunteer Application  -  There is a opening for an alternate member for the Planning Commission.

Name Position Email Expiration of Term
Kory Luker Vice Chair 12/31/2023
Johnny Loumis Member 12/31/2023
Stephen Walston Member 05/15/2025
Debbie Cragun Chair 05/15/2025
Ulises Flynn Member 05/15/2025
Vacant Alternate